Skip to content

Got Goals ! (50)

December 8, 2008

Got Goals

Lessons in Blogging from a Newbie

by Charmaine Hunte

 

I can’t believe that I have been blogging for almost a year.  This time last year Cacia Chronicles wasn’t even a thought in my mind.  It’s been a challenge to find the right message that I wanted to share, the time and the discipline to write; but the experience has taught me a lot.  So here are so here are some of my thoughts . . .

 

My blogging adventure would have never happened without first setting a goal.  Having a goal gave me something to focus on and a direction to move towards.  A goal is not enough though, I needed an action plan.  My plan became my road map of what I wanted to achieve through blogging.  In the moments when I did not know what to write or how to get started, or became overwhelmed I just followed the roadmap.

 

It was really important for me to have markers along the way. In the beginning I decided that I wanted to do a weekly blog, so that meant a post a week and deciding which day I would post.  If you had asked me January 2008 if I would have enough to write for 52 weeks, I would not have had a clue.  Having a measurement goal of 4 posts a month gave me the freedom to focus on a week at time. 

 

There are many blogs that write daily but I needed to do what was realistic for me.  You need to do the same with your goals.  It is easier to look at others and desire to do what they do but to attain a goal it must be attainable and realistic for you.

 

Another important factor to my blogging journey was that I needed to give myself timelines.  So part of the action plan was setting aside time to write and post.  If you do not make the time in your life to do what is important, things will never get done.  Often the hardest part of the task is getting started.

 

It’s been an incredible journey for me and I hope that you can use my blogging experience to help you achieve your goals.  The bottom line is if you got a goal, get started and the rest will come.

 

Got Goals

 

Your comments and thoughts are always appreciated.

 

Next Cacia Chronicle: December 15, 2008

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

