Skip to content

Definition of Insanity (24)

June 9, 2008

Insanity

Do some of your habits need changing?

by Charmaine Hunte

 

 

What's on your clothesline? 

I was talking to a girlfriend of mine the other day who was telling me how much she hates doing laundry.  I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite thing to do, but I don’t hate it.  She then said “I always have to remind my husband to turn his clothes inside out, which he never does and I hate it.  It then takes me so much longer to do the laundry because I have to unbutton and turn his clothes inside out.”  I then asked her why she does it that way and she replied

 

 “That’s the way you’re supposed to do it.” I told her that I do it a different way and the clothes wash just fine.  We both burst out laughing, because just at that moment we realized there IS no right or wrong way to do laundry, there is just the way you were taught.  I remember that my mom would put the clothes in 1st, then fill the washer with water and the detergent would go in last in a slot in the washer.  Washers and dryers have changed a lot since I saw my mom do this and I am not sure if that is how she still does laundry but I know that I changed because that method did not work for me.

 

Enough about laundry, the point is that sometimes the way we do something isn’t the only way to do it.  Often there is a better way.  Are there things you do right now that are out of habit?  Take some time to review; perhaps there is a better way that might be faster.

If we always do the same thing, the same way there is no room to grow and improve.

 “Never be afraid to try something new.  Remember, amateurs built the ark.  Professionals built the Titanic.”  Author Unknown

 

Your comments and thoughts are always appreciated.

 

Next Cacia Chronicle: June 16, 2008

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

