Skip to content

What Is Your Inner Self Saying ? (8)

February 18, 2008

What Is Your Inner Self Saying?

Affirmations- A Success Key

Okay, I’ll admit it.  I talk to myself all the time, but guess what – you do it too! 

Now I am not saying that if you saw me walking down the street that you could hear my conversation but believe it is going on in my head, even as I sit here to write this blog.   

The English language has well over half a million words, yet research indicates that the average person uses between 2000 – 10,000 words and the majority of them are negative.  Based on those statistics, is it any wonder why we have negative self talk. 

I would like you to try an experiment.  You could try this with a stranger or a friend.Tell them something outrageous like “I’m thinking of running for president.”  The statement doesn’t have to be true, what you’re looking for is reaction.  Someone who is negative will tell you it’s impossible. Someone who is positive will encourage you and ask you how you plan to do that.  Notice people’s reaction and your own.  Are you the negative one? 

We are constantly having these negative self talks that can be at such a deep sub conscious level we are not even aware.  It’s time to start paying more attention to what our inner self is saying and if the message is not empowering – change it. 

Our minds our very sophisticated computers, yet most scientists agree that we only use about 10%.  So it seems to me that we should try to be as efficient with that 10% as possible.  Changing your self talk does not have to be a difficult process but it will challenge you.  To change your self talk you must replace it with positive self talk or affirmations.   

Here’s an example . . . 

Old Self Talk New Self Talk
I am always late. I am always on time.  I leave 10 minutes earlier. 
I never remember names. I always remember names.I use an association to help me remember 
I never win. I am prepared to take advantage or every opportunity

As in any behaviour change it will take effort on your part and require you to be aware of what you say to your self and others, but there is a tremendous benefit to it.   Try it for yourself and see!

In Free Tools you can print a worksheet that will help you to create powerful affirmations of your own.

Points to remember:

  • It must be in the 1st person (I statements)
  • It must be in the present tense
  • The more affirmations you have for a particular goal the stronger the affirmation, the quicker it is realized
  • It’s a GREAT idea to have multiple affirmations for each or your goals.
  • Recording your list and listening to them daily will help to reprogram your self talk.

   “Belief consists in accepting the affirmations of the soul; unbelief, in denying them.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Your comments and thoughts are always appreciated.

Next Cacia Chronicle: February 25, 2008 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

